top of page
  • ACRP Secretary-General

My power may be small, but not powerless / 私は微力ではあるが無力ではない

*日本文は英文の下に続きます。

When I look into and reflect upon myself, I realize how small my power is. This feeling becomes stronger particularly when I meet with those under a severe living condition such as refugees, displaced people, or socially marginalized people like homeless, etc.

I often feel I don’t have any immediate means to help such people in front of me whether in Japan or overseas. It is just such a moment that I feel I am powerless.

Since this phrase of “My power may be small, but not powerless” became part and parcel of my life, I have been motivating myself to go to the problem, instead of avoiding the problem. So many varieties of problems we are facing now. Private, family-related, social, national, regional, transnational and global issues.

Of course, we cannot tackle all the issues. However, we can address one or two as we are not powerless. If we could mobilize the small power of each person, the power becomes a collective one. How little the strength of each ACRP family member, our collective power of ACRP could produce powerful energy to make a paradigm shift from distrust to trust, misunderstanding to understanding, I believe.

Never give up based on the pessimism that we have only small power. We offer our small power wholeheartedly so that we could make a change for the betterment of Asia and the world.

When I was 38 years old, I visited a Croatian refugee camp at Rijeka of Croatia. There, I met an old woman at one of the collective centers. I couldn’t speak Croat, nor could she talk to Japanese. I didn’t have a translator. However, we spent more than one hour by speaking each language while grasping one another’s hand. I understood her sad feeling while she was showing me the photo of a middle-aged man and young children. We didn’t need language. Only we needed is mutual empathy. Although I didn’t have enough power to look for her family under the war circumstance, I had a small ability to visit her and spend time with her.

Yes, what ACRP endeavors to do is taking small actions whatever possible by believing our own small powers. We will never give up the philosophy of “My power may be small, but not powerless”.

自分自身を見つめて内省するとき、いかに自分は微力であるかに気付きます。この感情は難民、避難民、ホームレス等の社会的に周縁化された人々のように厳しい生活環境で生きる人々と会う時に強くなります。

日本であろうと海外であろうとそうした人々を目の前にしたときに、直接救いの手を差し伸べる手段を持っていない自分に気付きます。その瞬間に自分が無力だと感じるのです。

海外で20代の終わりから人道支援活動に関わるようになって以来、私は同じような体験をたくさんしました。助けを必要としている人々に直接的な救いの手を差し伸べることができるようになるには、いかにしたら力をつけることができるのであろうか。それこそが私が乗り越えなければならない課題であると考えていました。しかし、多くのフィールドワークを経験する中で、自分は微力ではあるけれど無力ではないということに次第に気づき始めました。

「微力ではあるが無力ではない」この言葉が自分の生活の一部になって以来、問題を回避せずに問題に飛び込んでいく道に自分自身を向かわせるようになってきたと思います。今、私たちはたくさんの問題に直面しています。個人、家族、社会、国家、地域、超国家そして地球的課題は山積しています。

もちろん、私たちがこれらすべての課題に取り組むことは困難です。しかし、無力でない限り、一つあるいは二つの課題に取り組むことは可能でしょう。そして一人一人が持つ微力を動員し、集めることができれば大きな力となり得るのです。いかにACRP家族一員々々が持つ力が少なくとも、それが集まればACRP全体の集団パワーは不信から信頼へ、誤解から理解へとパラダイムシフトを起こす影響力を産み出すことができる、私はそう信じています。

私たちは微力しか持っていないのだからと悲観的になり、あきらめてはいけません。私たちは心を込めて私たちの微力をささげるのです。そうすればより良きアジアと世界に向けた変化を作り出すことができるのです。

38歳の時、私はクロアチアのリエカ地域にあるボスニアからのクロアチア難民キャンプを訪れました。集団難民収容センターで、私は一人の老婦人と出会いました。私はクロアチア語を話せませんし、彼女も日本語を話せません。生憎、通訳者はいませんでした。しかし、私たちそれぞれの母国語を話しながら、手をつないで一時間以上も一緒に過ごしたのです。彼女は中年の男性と子供たちの写真を私に見せながら涙ながらに話していました。私たちに必要なのはお互いを思いやる心だけでした。その時、私には、戦争下で彼女の家族を探してあげる力はありませんでした。でも私には彼女を訪問し、彼女と時を共に過ごす少しのパワーだけはあったのです。

そうなのです。ACRPがこれからも続けていくべき努力とは、私たち自身が持っている小さな力、微力を信じ、できるところから行動を起こしていくことです。

「私は微力ではあるが無力ではない」これを肝に銘じ、あきらめることなく前進していきましょう。

閲覧数:0回

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page