top of page
  • ACRP Secretary-General

Turning point in life / 人生の転機

img_4484

Everyone has several turning points in life. In my case, I have some. One of the most significant turning points is my first visit to the African continent in November 1984.

誰でも何度か人生の転機はあると思います。私も何度かあります。もっとも大きな一つは、1984年11月の私の人生初のアフリカ大陸の訪問でした。

I attended the joint investigation team of the government ministries in the continent in those days. We visited the counties from south via east to west in the continent.

当時、干ばつ被害の最も大きかった8カ国を調査する官民合同支援調査団に参加したのです。私たちは南から東経由で西までの地域を訪問しました。

Something happened to me during the three weeks of this visit. It was an extraordinary and somehow shocking experience for me, particularly in Ethiopia. I saw many starving children and corpses. I lost my words.

この3週間の訪問期間中、私に何かが起こりました。特にエチオピアでは驚愕とショッキングな経験をしました。飢餓で苦しむたくさんの子供達と死体を見たのです。言葉を失いました。

Something never acceptable was taking place on the earth we live in the same era.  I couldn’t believe the reality I saw over there.  Then, I genuinely felt it could no longer be allowed to continue in the future. I was 29 years old.

私たちが同じ時代に生きるこの地球上で、何か、許されないことが起こっていたのです。そこで目にした現実を信じることができませんでした。その時に、このようなことが将来続くことは許されることではない、そう私は強く思ったのです。29歳でした。

It was for me a real turning point in my life.  I was rather indifferent to the critical world issues such as victims by natural and human-made disasters, poverty, starvation, human-right violation, discrimination, etc..  I was not aware of the reality of the world, and no particular concerns about the African continent.  A kind of new awareness arose deeply in me.

それは私の人生にとって、真の転機となる出来事でした。それまでの私は自然災害や人的災害の犠牲者、貧困、飢餓、人権侵害、差別などの世界的問題にはどちらかと言えば無関心でした。世界の現実を知らず、アフリカ大陸にも特別の関心はありませんでした。新たな気づきのようなものが私の深い内部に芽生えました。

Since the experience in the African continent, my concerns for the third world immediately began to grow and soon started to work on the fields such as refugee assistance and other humanitarian assistance.  I have been using my life almost for humanitarian aid in the fields for the last 35 years.

アフリカ大陸におけるこの経験以来、私は第三世界に対する関心が深まり、難民支援や他の人道支援領域での活動に従事するようになりました。今日までの35年間、私は時分の人生のほとんどをフィールドでの人道支援に費やしてきました。

If I didn’t get a chance to visit Africa 35 years ago, my life might have been a different one from what I live now.  I firmly believe it was an arrangement by Buddha’s wisdom and compassion, and genuinely appreciate the guidance of Buddha.

もし、35年前にアフリカを訪れる機会が得られなかったなら、私の今の人生は完全に違ったものになっていたでしょう。仏さまの知恵と慈悲による計らいであることを固く信じています。

閲覧数:0回

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page