top of page
  • ACRP Secretary-General

We should not be indifferent / 無関心ではいられない

※日本文は英文の下に続きます。

Mother Teresa left a very famous phrase that the antonym of love is not hatred, but indifference. I encountered with this phrase at my age of mid. The 20s. Was it late or early? I don’t know. However, I was very shocked when I first met with this message. I used to think the opposite word of love is hatred. Mother Teresa said hatred still holds concerns for the object. She continued that the indifference doesn’t have any concerns about the purpose.

Immanuel Kant points out that there are two kinds of duty. One is a full duty and second is an incomplete duty. The former is duty directly related to the person so that the person cannot escape from fulfilling it, whereas the person can be easily indifferent or ignore in performing the indirect duty. Kant called the latter attitude as non-performance of incomplete duty. I think this is equal to indifference.

I realized I have been doing so many non-performance of incomplete duty, namely been so often indifferent to many things or issues, such as refugee, homeless, alone dying, hunger, poverty, etc. My shock arose in myself by realizing my way of living before knowing Mother Teresa’s words.

If we are to follow the founders of our religions, love and compassion are requisite in our daily lives. If we try to hold love and compassion in our daily living, we should not be indifferent to anyone or any issue. It is a sort of my conclusion lead by Teresa’s message.

I was indifferent to or not concerned enough about people in need who are far away from my daily living, sufferers from hunger and poverty in the Horn of Africa, Afghan refugees in neighboring countries, many children and women who are victimized by human trafficking, and homeless people in Tokyo Japan, etc.

ACRP doesn’t wait but reaches out to people, with the spirit of love and compassion in a real sense of welcoming others. We should no longer be indifferent to people and problems.

So many people are waiting for us, even today. Let us fulfill not only our complete duties but also our incomplete duties with love and compassion, with the slogan of “Let’s start with whatever we can around ourselves”.

マザーテレサは愛の反対語は憎しみではなく、無関心であるという有名な言葉を残しました。私は20代半ばの時にこの言葉に出会いました。遅いか早いかわかりませんが。初めてこの言葉に出会ったとき、私は大きなショックを受けました。愛の反対語は憎しみであると思っていたからです。マザーテレサは憎しみはまだ対象に対して関心を持っている、しかし無関心は対象に対して関心さえ持っていないと語ったのです。

イマヌエル・カントは義務には二種類あると指摘しました。一つは完全義務でもう一つは不完全義務です。完全義務とは人が直接有する義務で、履行から逃れることができないものです。一方、不完全義務は人が容易に履行を逃れたり、無関心になることができる間接的な義務です。カントは後者を不完全義務の不履行と呼びました。これはまさしく無関心と同義であると思うのです。

私は、難民、ホームレス、孤独死、飢餓、貧困などの問題に対する不完全義務の不履行と無関心をたくさん行ってきた自分に気づきました。マザーテレサの言葉を知る前の自分の生き方に気づいたことによって大きなショックを受けたのです。

もし、私たち宗教者が、信仰者がそれぞれの開祖の生き方に従うのであれば、毎日の生活において愛と慈悲に生きることが求められます。日常生活において愛と慈悲を保ち続けるにはいかなる人や問題に対しても無関心であってはなりません。これがマザーテレサのメッセージによってたどり着いた私の結論の一つです。

アフリカの角で飢餓や貧困にあえぐ人々、近隣諸国に避難するアフガン難民、人身売買の犠牲になっている子供たちや女性、東京のホームレスの人々、私の日常から遠いところで助けを必要とする人々に対し、私は無関心であり、十分な心配をしてこなかったのです。

ACRPに集う私たちは、私たち自身の内に、そして私たちの周りで最も弱き立場に置かれている人々に対し、より真摯に、真剣に関わっていく心を育みます。歓迎とは誰かが私たちを訪ねてくること、歩み寄ってくることを待つのではなく、私たちが私たちを必要とする人の元へ歩み寄り、訪ねていくことであると思うのです。

ACRPは他者を真に歓迎するという意味において、愛と慈悲の精神で人々のところに出かけていきます。待つのではなく。私たちはこれ以上人々や問題に無関心でいることは許されません。たくさんの人たちが今日も私たちを待っているのです。愛と慈悲の精神で完全義務のみでなく、むしろ不完全義務を果たしていこうではありませんか。「私たちの身の回りでできるところから始めよう」をあいことばに!

閲覧数:0回

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page