top of page
  • ACRP Secretary-General

Who is my enemy? / 私の敵は誰でしょうか?

IMG_4879

Who is my enemy? Is anyone who threat my life in any way, or is anyone who has a different idea or thought from mine?

私の敵は誰でしょうか?何らかの方法で私の人生やいのちを脅かす人、あるいは私と違うアイデアや考えを持っている人でしょうか?

Recently, I have been wondering if I have any enemy, and if so, who my enemy is.  Then, I have concluded that my enemy is a small myself; in other word, it is I with a small identity.

最近、私には敵がいるのだろうか、と考えを巡らせていました。もしいるとしたらそれは誰なのか?と。そして、先日、私の敵は小さな自分、小さなアイデンティティーの「私」ではないかという思いに至ったのです。

Then, what is a small identity, and what is a large identity?  Who is a small myself and a big myself?

では、小さなアイデンティティー、大きなアイデンティティーとはなんでしょうか?小さな自分、大きな自分とは誰でしょうか?

The answer may differ in each religious tradition.  As a Buddhist, my answer is that I am a big myself when I am close to the quality of Buddha, and I am a small myself when I am far away from the nature of Buddha.  In more plain words,  a small myself is the one with a selfish mind and behavior, whereas a big myself is the one with a selfless mind and behavior.

答えはそれぞれの宗教伝統によって異なるでしょう。私の場合は仏教徒としての答えになります。大きな自分とは仏さまの性格に近い時の自分で、小さな自分とは仏さまの性格から遠く離れている時の自分です。より平易に言えば、小さな自分は利己的な心と行動、大きな自分は無我的な心と行動の自分です。

This enemy is tough.  Therefore, I want to get rid of my enemy rather than fighting against my enemy.

この敵はなかなか手ごわいものです。ですから、敵と戦って生きるよりも、敵をなくす生き方をしていきたいと思うのです。

How can I extinguish my enemy?  There is no easy way.  I think that’s why religion exists.

どうしたら敵をなくすことができるのでしょうか。簡単な道はありません。そのために宗教があるのです。

閲覧数:0回

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page